AWP President's Message Spring 2014

Dear AWP Members:

Stacy DruryThis is perhaps my favorite note from the President to write because it allows me to recognize the 2014 award recipients and to highlight the incredible events scheduled at the upcoming APA Annual Meeting in New York. Additionally, it is a chance for me to update you on the status of AWP and our new projects.

First, I wanted to let you know that while many organizations are struggling financially AWP continues to grow in membership and foundation and grant support. In addition to the foundation support for our new international fellowship we have received two other grants to support mentorship, career development, and empowerment of women in psychiatry as we, as an organization, seek to improve the care and support of women around the world. We are incredibly grateful to Frances Roton and Maria Sciancalepore for their tireless efforts on behalf of the AWP.

Second, I would like to officially announce the new updated AWP web page that we are creating. As many of you are aware one of the benefi ts of AWP was the ability to seek out both mentors and new referrals for our patients. However, as with any organization we realized that with the increase in the desire to share information, find excellent care for our patients, and heightened engagement in the AWP the list serve as been more frequently utilized creating a challenge in determining the best balance of accessibility and effectiveness. In response to a brilliant idea by Kate Riva, the 2013 Leah Dickstein Award recipient, we have begun construction of a new searchable data base. This data base will serve as an access point for referrals but also as a way to identify mentors and colleagues with whomAWP members can connect and fi nd support, guidance andcommon professional interests. We are further working outways to publish articles, important news, and updates in aneffi cient manner with the new web site so tha will be best positioned to advocate for the advancement of women in psychiatry, support and develop the next generation of women psychiatrists, and strengthen our ability to advocate for women everywhere.

Finally my favorite part - the awards. Each year the AWP is able to offer multiple awards all with the same underlying theme of supporting the best advocates, researchers, providers, and early career individuals who refl ect the core values and mission of AWP. In 2014 our award recipients truly carry these awards to new heights.

The 2014 Award Recipients are:

Marian I. Butterfield, M.D., M.P.H., Early Career Psychiatrist Award
Margaret Spinelli, M.D.

Jeanne Spurlock, M.D. Social Justice Award
Geetha Jayaram, M.D.

Martin Symonds, M.D., Man of Good Conscience Award
Nicholas Kristoff
Tom Wise, M.D.

2014 AWP Fellowship:
Smita Das, M.D., Stanford University School of Medicine. Dr. Das continues to be the best prepared, clearest, most compelling resident or fellows I have ever worked with. She is capable of just about anything! Dr. Das not only fi ts right in, she quickly functioned beyond the level of her counterparts and exceeded all of my expectations. Dr. Das demonstrates strong leadership skills including attention to detail, treating
others with respect, creativity, resourcefulness, an eye for short and long term goals, setting realistic goals for self and others, a strong work ethic, listening to and being open to learning from others.

Misty Richards, M.D., University of California Los Angeles, David Geffen School of Medicine. Dr. Richards' list of awards is as impressive as her involvement and leadership. Dr.Richards is passionate about women's health and promoting women as physicians and scientists; she has
led by example through her broad research and organizational endeavors. Dr.Richards gracefully exemplifies one of the most outstanding female physicians and psychiatry residents whom I have known.

2014 AWP Leah Dickstein Award:
Esther Rollhaus, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. Ms. Rollhaus, while at Mt. Sinai has exhibited true excellence not only academically but also in leadership and service. Esty is a conscientious student who is an energetic advocate for her patients. She shows a level of compassion
and maturity that is beyond even what many of our students show. Esty excelled in the academic side of medicine but what is truly special is her commitment and leadership in the medical school community and in helping others outside the medical school community. She is an amazing young woman with a great commitment to women’s concerns. She dedicates herself to helping women feel empowered and to listen to their own voices.

2014 AWP International Fellows:
Dr. GenaLynne Mooneyham, Indiana University School of Medicine. Dr. Mooneyham’s project will be focused on work in Eldoret Kenya where she will work at the Riley Mother Baby Hospital and develop a portable training curriculum focused on the assessment of suicidality and risk of harm in mothers. To quote one of her letters of recommendation: "I believe she embodies many of the finest qualities of a Child Psychiatrist today."

Dr. Ayana Jordan, Yale University. Dr. Jordan’s project will be a continuation of her already extensive work in Kono district of Sierra Leone in West Africa with a new focus on identifying the female specifi c stressors that contribute to substance abuse. To quote one of her letters of recommendation: "her commitment to serve highly stigmatized people, affected by mental illness in Sierra Leone is not only exemplary but also
inspirational and awe inspiring."

I look forward to seeing you at the APA Meeting in New York and working together to advance women in psychiatry and the strength, achievements, and equality of women around the world.


Stacy S. Drury, M.D., PhD.

Department of Psychiatry, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Department of Pediatrics
President, Association of Women Psychiatrists
Tulane University
1430 Tulane Ave, #8055
New Orleans, La 70112

Dr. Drury is Director of the Behavioral and Neurodevelopmental Genetics Laboratory at Tulane University School of Medicine in New Orleans, LA, and President of AWP.