Applications for the 2014 AWP Fellowship, the Alexandra and Martin Symonds Foundation Fellowship and Dickstein Award

Dear Residency Program Director:

The Association of Women Psychiatrists is pleased to announce its annual call for applications for the AWP Fellowship and the Alexandra and Martin Symonds Foundation Fellowship. Two outstanding women psychiatric residents will be selected for these Fellowship Programs. Candidates will be selected based on a demonstrated leadership potential, interest in and commitment to women's health, community mental health service, and academic excellence. Enclosed are the set of criteria for each fellowship. An individual resident may be nominated for only one of the two fellowships.

The Association of Women Psychiatrists seeks to improve communication among women in psychiatry with a goal of advancing more women into leadership positions in all aspects of health care. Additionally the AWP seeks to provide support for women at all levels of their career and serve as a resource to disseminate information on women??s health issues to its membership and beyond.

I invite you to nominate a psychiatry resident, applications are due by March 1 we will accept one application per residency training program per fellowship. The recipients will receive a $1,500 stipend each and will be expected to attend the AWP Meeting held at the APA Annual Meeting in New York, 2014.

The applications with all supporting documents must be submitted as a single PDF file to by March 1, 2014.

Download Applications (PDF format):

AWP President's Message (June 2013) E-News for Women in Psychiatry AWP Membership Dues 2013

Dear AWP Members,

It's hard to believe that it is June already, the last two weeks after the APA meeting have flown by. It was wonderful to see the number of programs focused on Women's health and Women's issues grow at the Annual meeting and to have the return of the women's center as well.

The AWP/ APA Women's caucus meeting was inspiring, just being in the room with our incredible award recipients and all of the past women presidents of the APA- truly a powerful group all poised to continue to strengthen women psychiatrists across the globe and to improve the lives of women, and their families, in the process.

Read More


AWP Winter 2012 Newsletter

The Winter 2012 edition of E-News For Women in Psychiatry, the newsletter of the AWP, is now available to members only.


Dear AWP Colleague,

Budgets, apparently that is what is on everyone's mind currently. As we approach 2014, and the government doesn't seem to be able to agree on anything, at AWP we stand united. AWP continues to support the development of young women in psychiatry, our membership grows, and through your input and involvement continue to recognize the successes of incredible women in our fi eld who have changed the course of so many lives through their dedication.

AWP continues to develop our international focus. AWP had a strong presence at the International Association for Women's Mental Health in Lima, Peru in March 2013, many of our award winners this past year have already been involved in international mental health projects, and we will be announcing the application for our first international fellow award this month. Our established alternative dues guidelines have permitted the growth of our international membership and we look forward to international contributions to our newsletter.

Read more

Membership and Dues AWP on Facebook American Medical Womens Association

New and Current Members - join the AWP or pay your dues.

AWP on Facebook

AWP on Facebook

American Medical Womens Association

AWP Walks Against Domestic Violence, San Francisco, May 19, 2013, benefiting Jelani Inc

AWP Walks Against Domestic Violence, San Francisco, May 19, 2013, benefiting Jelani Inc

2012 AWP Walk Against Domestic Violence, benefitting Women Against Abuse in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

2012 Awards

The Association of Women Psychiatrists is honored to announce the following awards for 2011:

Leah J. Dickstein M.D. Award for Medical Student Creativity
Misty Richards

AWP Fellowship
Amy Ricke, M.D.

AWP Symonds Fellowship
Lauren Melanie Osborne, M.D.
Alexandra Carly Sacks, M.D.

Marian I. Butterfield, M.D. ECP Award
Joyce Adams Spurgeon, M.D.

AWP Man of Good Conscience Award
Herb Kleber, M.D.

Jeanne Spurlock, M.D. Social Justice Award
Donna Norris, M.D.

2011 Annual AWP Meeting

Photos from 2011 Annual AWP Meeting are now online. Photos will rotate through every 8 seconds. You can pause, play, move forward or backward using the buttons below.

Executive Council - 2012-2013

Patricia Isbell Ordorica, M.D.

Stacy Drury, M.D., Ph.D.

Toi B. Harris, M.D.

Kayla Pope, M.D.,J.D.

Mary E. Barber, M.D.

Alice Mao, M.D.

Councilors at Large
Geetha Jayaram, M.D.
P. Lynn Oulette, M.D.
Michelle Riba, M.D.
Altha J. Stewart, M.D.

Newsletter Editor
Doris Iarovici, M.D.

International Representative
Gisele Apter, M.D.

International Fellow
Christina Khan, M.D., Ph.D.

Immediate Past President
Eva M. Szigethy, M.D., Ph.D.